La Casa de Pilatos (Pilate’s House) is an Andalusian palace and main residence of the Dukes of Medinaceli. The building, considered to be the prototype of the Andalusian palace, is a mixture of Renaissance Italian and Mudéjar Spanish styles. The palace boasts beautiful gardens, gorgeous Andalusian tile work, a splendid courtyard, and a lovely art collection. It is most definitely worth a visit.
The palace was built by the Adelantado Mayor of Seville, Enríquez de Quiñones, and his wife Catalina de Rivera, founder of the Casa de Alcalá, and gained its unusual name following their son Fadrique Enríquez de Rivera’s pilgrimage to Jerusalem in 1519. [Don Fadrique also inaugurated the observance in Seville of the Holy Via Crucis (Holy Way of the Cross)].
The Dukedom of Medinaceli is at the moment temporarily vacant—pending certification of the heir—following the death of the last holder of the title, Doña Victoria Eugenia Fernández de Córdoba y Fernández de Henestrosa, XVIII Duchess de Medinaceli in August (2013). She held the title in her own right from July 1956 to her death in 2013.
The Palace was declared a National Monument in 1931 and is open to the public year round.
Visit their website at http://www.fundacionmedinaceli.org/monumentos/pilatos/